Tuesday, April 14, 2015

South West may produce next Deputy Senate President

Nigeria House of Assembly complex, Abuja | credits:
Fresh indications emerged on Monday that the South-West geo-political zone would produce the next Deputy Senate President based on the ranking rule of the upper chamber which gives preference to returning senators.

A critical analysis of the incoming 8th Senate indicated that with a simple majority in the chamber, the All Progressives Congress’ members are expected to emerge as, Senate President; Deputy Senate President; Senate Majority Leader; Chief Whip; Deputy Majority Leader and Deputy Chief Whip.

A ranking senator, who preferred anonymity, told our correspondent that the APC Senate Caucus members were pushing for the Deputy Senate President slot to be filled by the South-West since the North-Central and the North-East were currently battling to produce the Senate President.

He said South-South and the South-East would only produce the Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip, and Deputy Minority Whip because none of the senators from the zone, either new or old, was a member of the APC which would constitute the majority in the 8th Senate.

He said the North-West was expected to fill the slot of the Senate Leader, because there were many ranking APC senators from the zone.

Read more HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment