Tuesday, May 26, 2015

APC wins 22 LGA seats in Rivers Council polls

The All Progressives Congress has won 22 out of the 23 chairmanship seats in the LOCAL government election conducted in Rivers State on Saturday.

The party also won 297 councillorship seats in the 302 wards while other political parties won the rest.

The result was announced on Sunday night by the Chief Returning Officer of the Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission, Austin Ahiazu.

He said there was no election in Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LOCAL Government Area because the poll was held in the council last year.

“The chairmanship seats were won by APC in all the 22 LGAs where elections held,” he said.

“As you know, there were no elections at Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA because they just had election last year.

“APC won 297 wards out of 302 wards. The remaining wards were won by ADC in Etche ward 3, PPA in Ahoada West ward 2, and Ahoada East ward 4 SDP won the seat there.”

He, however, said the election in Ward 8, Ahoada East LGA, was inconclusive.

Mr. Ahiauzu described the election as peaceful and transparent.

The Returning Officer THANKED Rivers people for going out to vote candidates of their choice.

The Peoples Democratic Party boycotted the election citing court injunction which ORDERED that status quo be maintained.

No comments:

Post a Comment