Saturday, June 27, 2015

APC NWC divided over sanction for Saraki, Dogara

The All Progressives Congress is undecided on how to handle the Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki, and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Yakuubu Dogara, for disregarding its directive on the choice of principal officers of the National Assembly.

Saturday PUNCH learnt on Friday that the party’s National Working Committee was undecided on whether or not Saraki and Dogara should be punished.

It was learnt that while some members believed that the party should handle the issue with care; others insisted that the Senate President and the speaker should be punished.

The division among the NWC members had prevented the committee from taking a definite decision on the alleged anti-party activities by the Senate President and the Speaker.

Saraki and Dogara, had on June 9 defied the directive of the party by contesting the senate presidency and the speakership.

The APC leaders were particularly angry because the Peoples Democratic Party got the senate deputy presidency.

Saraki and his loyalists, among the APC senators, had boycotted a peace meeting the party had with its senators on June 9.

The meeting was attended by the rival group, Senate Unity Forum, led by Senator Ahmed Lawan, who was endorsed by the party as its sole candidate for the Senate President.

Saraki emerged as senate president unopposed when the meeting was going on at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

The Senate President again on Thursday refused to announce the party’s candidates for the upper chamber’s principal positions.

The APC, had in a letter to Saraki on Wednesday, named Lawan as its choice for the Majority Leader; Prof. Sola Adeyeye as the Chief Whip; George Akume as Deputy Majority Leader; and Abu Ibrahim as Deputy Chief Whip.

The party also wrote Dogara and named a former Minority Leader, Femi Gbajabiamila as the Majority Leader; Ado Doguwa as the Deputy House Leader; M.T. Monguno as the Chief Whip and Pally Iriase as the Deputy Chief Whip.

Saraki read letters from zonal caucuses tof the APC on Thursday.

The North-East caucus of the party nominated Senator Ali Ndume as the Majority Leader; while the North-West put forward, Bala Na’Allah as the Deputy Majority Leader.

Read more HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment