Thursday, June 25, 2015

War : APC Insists On Its Original List Of NASS Leaders

The All Progressives Congress has condemned in strong terms what transpired in both chambers of the National Assembly on Thursday, June 25, 2015.

This was contained in a three paragraph statement signed by the party’s National Secretary, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni, in Abuja.

The statement partly read, “The party stands by the list by the party to the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

“The National Caucus, the Board of Trustees and the National Executive Council of the party will meet within the next few days to discuss the evolving developments in the National Assembly.”

The party had, in an earlier letter to the Senate, named Senator Ahmed Lawan from the North-East as Senate majority leader and Senator George Akume from the North-Central as deputy majority leader.

It also named Senator Sola Adeyeye from the South-West as Chief Whip while Senator Abu Ibrahim was named as the party’s choice for the position of Deputy Chief Whip.

However, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki ignored the party’s position and mandated zonal caucuses in the Senate to choose those they wish to represent them for the positions zoned to them.

At the end of the exercise, Senator Ali Ndume (North-East) emerged Majority Leader of the Senate, and Senator Bala Ibn Na’Allah (North-West) emerged Deputy Senate Leader.

The South-South caucus adopted Senator France Alimikhena as deputy whip. The Senate President was silent on the office of the Chief Whip.


No comments:

Post a Comment