Monday, August 17, 2015

AFCON : Oliseh drops Mikel,Victor Moses.. Calls 18 for Tanzania match

Nigeria coach Sunday Oliseh has dropped England-based John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Odion Ighalo from his list of foreign-based professionals for next month’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania.

Obi and Moses paid dearly for their inability to secure a regular place in Jose Morinho’s Chelsea as they were dropped from the team to face the Taifa Stars, while Ighalo who hit the bull’s eyes on his English Premier League debut for Watford was a surprise exclusion.

Emmanuel Emenike, Obiora Nwankwo and Haruna Lukman were handed a recall to the team, while Wolverhampton Wanderers goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, Izunna Uzochukwu, Emem Eduok, Sylvester Igboun and Moses Simon have been handed a first time call up.

Among the invited players are goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, Ahmed Musa, Joel Obi and Kenneth Omeruo for the match billed for Dar es Salam.

Others are Leon Balogun, Anthony Ujahh, Godfrey Oboabona, William Troost-Ekong and Rabiu Ibrahim.

The invited players who are expected before Monday, August 31 will join up with the 23 Nigeria topflight stars in camp.

The NPFL players in camp are Olufemi Thomas; David Obiazor, Ikechukwu Ezenwa; Orji Kalu; Solomon Kwambe ; Idris Aloma; Chima Akas; Nelson Ogbonnaya ; Samson Gbadebo ; Jamiu Alimi; Stephen Eze; Ifeanyi Mathew; Usman Mohammed.

The rest are  Azubuike Okechukwu ; Lawson Ichul ; Kingsley Sokari ; Etebo Oghenekaro ; Ezekiel Bassey; Gbolahan Salami; Bright Ejike ; Tunde Adeniji ; Bright Onyedikachi and Prince Aggreh.

Full List of Invited Foreign-Based Players

Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Troost Ekong (FK Haugesund, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joel Obi (Torina FC, Italy); Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia); Obiora Nwankwo (Coimbra FC, Portugal); Lukman Haruna (Anzhi Machatsjkala, Russia); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emem Eduok (Esperance ST, Tunisia); Emmanuel Emenike (Al Ain, UAE); Anthony Ujah (Werder Bremen, Germany); Sylvester Igboun (FC UFA, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Culled from

No comments:

Post a Comment